top of page
  • Enid S

Why Don't We Love Our Tall Poppies?

Over the weekend, I read something on social media which made me crinkle my noise in absolute confusion and complete disdain. To read something that wasn’t COVID related, and to have had such a profound response, was a telltale sign that I felt compelled to write something about it.


Pockets of small communities are so important, whether it be ethnic, or social like sports or your online book club, pockets of likeminded individuals allow subcultures to thrive and flourish.


However, I have felt for a long time the truly Aussie phenomenon of the “Tall Poppy Syndrome” effect these small populations of passionate people. It seems some people have an actual issue with others who are happy, doing well, or doing anything any all. It makes me wonder what they themselves have not suffered in their lifetime to feel like they need to cut someone down?


To be competitive is an innate nature, a wonderful one and to be surrounded by competitive people is to be involved in a group of people who only want the best. So, when I see and read people in their small subcultures, tearing others within that community down, I am genuinely intrigued to understand that thought process. Surely you want your fellow employee, the girl next to you in Lane 5, the chick with the new side hustle, to all succeed? If not for them, but for the sake of your community, to ensure it evolves with the time and sets new heights for future generations?


What do you think it is that makes people dislike their competitors, besides the fact that there is often jealousy (and with good and obvious reason)? What does “stay in your lane” even mean, and is it doing anyone any good?


I will say this, and I feel utterly passionate about the fact that, if you are not happy for your competitor, understanding the tireless hard work of your industry, and are not thankful for them for making the game better, then you do not deserve to play the game.


It’s difficult, but I have often understood that jealousy, that initial seething heat of something ugly deep down; to feel hideous amongst the beautiful, and inferior around the rich. I still do. However, I feel like I have never used it to tear down anyone else. My sport is wonderful, however it’s one of the things that make me so excited to leave it behind. I hope all our coaches are empowering their athletes as young women who will love themselves enough to understand that sport is not forever, but the continuation of betterment is.


If you think about your competition more than literally, I don’t know, once a blue moon, maybe instead of “stay in your lane”, you should find a new sport. Because it’s making you a bad person.


Tell me your thoughts! I AM GENUINELY CURIOUS!

401 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page